Know How Mahadasha Rule on Your life and Your Future 

In Vedic Astrology, “Desha” (the country), “Kaala” (the time period) &“Patra” (the person) are three crucial factors which are analysed in making astrological predictions. 

“Kaala” is a Sanskrit word which refers to the planetary time period a native is going through and is commonly known as Mahadasha.

The term Mahadasha comprises of two words- Maha meaning major and Dasha meaning operating period of the planet.

We have a number of questions boggling our mind, for which we don’t have any answers. 

For example: 

When will I get a Job? 

When will I get married?

Should I try business or do job? 

And many more

These types of questions having uncertainties can be easily answered with the help of Mahadasha. In order to know more about this time period and its importance, keep reading this article.


Understanding Mahadasha and its basis

Astrologically, it is believed that when a person is born, he is under the influence of a matrix of planets called Navgrahas.

These planets then govern the life of the native depending upon its placements and strength in the birth chart. 

During any point in life, a native undergoes the effect of a specific planet for a longer period of time which represents the Mahadasha of the birth chart. 

The Dasha system works on the basis of Nakshatras- “the lunar mansion” in Hindu Astrology. There are 27 Nakshatra in the astrological system which is governed by 9 different planets. 

For example, Mrigshira (5th), Chitra (14th), Dhansitha(23rd) are three Nakshatras that is ruled by planet Mars.

Therefore, a person born in the above three Nakshatra will have its running Mahadasha of Mars during the time of his birth.

There are many different Dasha Systems that have been used in the context of Vedic Astrology such as Vimshottari Dasha, Ashtotari Dasha and Shodasttotri Dashaetc.

Out of nearly 42 Dasha System mentioned by Rishi Prasara, Vimshottari Dasha has been mostly followed due to its exactness and subtle nature.

What is Vimshottari Dasha?

In Vimshottari Dasha calculation, each person is assumed to live a life of 120 years. These 120 years is further divided into 9 different sections called the Mahadasha, also known as planetary periods.

The different Mahadasha and time periods are shown below in a tabulated way.

different Mahadasha and time periods

It runs in a consecutive way in a back to back manner. For example, if a person starts his Venus Mahadasha, then after its completion the Mahadasha of Sun starts for 6 years and so on.

Antardasha under MahadashaI

In each Mahadasha, there is yet another dasha that runs parallely which is called the Antardasha of planets.

Each Mahadasha will have Antardasha of 9 different planets, the duration of which is proportionate to its own planetary time period. 

For example, in the Rahu Mahadasha, the Antardasha of Venus is of 3 years. The calculation of it is shown below:

Rahu Mahadasha-18 years

Part of Rahu Mahadasha in 120 years= 18/120

Venus period in 120 years= 20

Therefore, the Antardasha of Venus in Rahu Mahadasha is calculated by:

(18/120)* 20= 3 years. 

The first Antardasha for each Mahadasha remains the same. For example, a Jupiter Mahadasha will have the first Antardasha of Jupiter. 

Next, the Saturn Antardasha will come into picture. Therefore, the Antardasha of all 9 planets will run in every Mahadasha of planets.

Pratyantar Dasha, Sookshm Dasha & Prann Dasha

In a similar fashion, each Antardasha is followed by a Pratyantar Dasha, Sookshm Dasha and Prann Dasha which runs under the Mahadasha for smaller intervals of the time period. 

So a planetary period at any given time looks like: Mahadasha/ Antardasha/Pratyantar Dasha/Sookshm Dasha/Prann Dasha.

However, Sookshm Dasha and Prann Dasha are only sometimes taken into consideration for getting more refined results.

The relationship between dasha and sub-dasha is shown below:

The relationship between dasha and sub-dasha

Sequencing of Mahadasha

When a native is born, his first Mahadasha will be of the planet of corresponding Nakshatras wherever the Moon is placed in the lunar mansion. 

For example, a person born in Anuradha Nakshatra will experience the first Mahadasha of Saturn. The duration of the first Mahadasha will depend upon the total degree swept by the moon in that particular Nakshatra. 

After the completion of the Saturn Mahadasha, he will undergo a complete period of Mercury Mahadasha> Ketu Mahadasha> Venus Mahadasha> Sun Mahadasha > Moon Mahadasha> Mars Mahadasha > Rahu Mahadasha> Jupiter Mahadasha in a cyclic fashion. 

However, it is almost difficult for any native to go through the complete cycle of Mahadasha of 120 years.

To mention again, each Mahadasha will parallely have Antardasha, Pratyantar Dasha, Sookshm Dasha and Prann Dasha running in tandem at any point of time.

Timing of events in Mahadasha

Each planet in Vedic Astrology, due to its placement, strength and conjunction can work either in a benefic or a malefic way.

Also these planets are natural significators of many things in a person’s life. 

Jupiter for example, is the significator of wealth, wisdom, marriage (in girls) and progeny, so a person undergoing the Mahadasha can witness results in the aforesaid departments.

Likewise, Saturn represents discipline, hard-work, career, efforts, pains and troubles in astrology, so a person undergoing the Saturn Mahadasha can face a lot of trials and tribulations during its operating period. 

Apart from that, planets due to their placement can also give results of that house when its Mahadasha is running.

Planet in an exalted condition and a good placement can give positive results during its Mahadasha, while a planet in debilitation will offer bad results during its major period. 

On the other side, even a Mahadasha of exalted planet can turn out to be bad if it is malefic for the chart. 

Conventionally, the Mahadasha of planets ruling the Kendra Houses (1st, 4th, 7th, 10th) and the Trikona Houses (1st, 5th, 9th)  gives auspicious results, whereas the Mahadasha of planets related to the Dusthana Houses (6th , 8th , 12th ) are usually unfavorable. 

Besides, each Mahadasha is further accompanied by Antardasha and Pratyantar Dasha working in tandem, the results would vary accordingly. 

Suppose, if a native is looking to get married, then the Mahadasha & Antardasha of 2nd house, 7th house and 8th house lords should be running in order to get results. 

Other than that, Mahadasha of Jupiter or Venus can also confirm marriage as they are the natural significators (Karakas) of marriage in Astrology.

Importance of Mahadasha

Mahadasha plays a vital role in analyzing the charts and making the predictions. It helps us understand the current situation and future lives of the natives.

If a chart promises a person to be a billionaire, then only a favorable Mahadasha of 2nd lord, 11th lord can guarantee it. 

All the Panch Mahapurusha yogas and other beneficial yogas can fructify only when the Mahadasha of the participating planet runs in the chart.

If a person doesn’t undergo any beneficial Mahadasha, then all these beneficial yogas will not work out for the native. 

Mahadasha has the ability to answer all your questions of your life, whether it is for job, career, finance, relationships and etc. But a comprehensive and meticulous study of chart has to be made before jumping to any conclusions.

Explore Mantras

  1. Home
  2.  ›
  3. Navagraha Mantras
  4.  ›
  5. Mahadasha